Aivazovsky: Art, War, Politics, History

Ivan Aivazovsky
Ivan Konstantinovich Aivazovsky (Russian: Ива́н Константи́нович Айвазо́вский, Armenian: Հովհաննես Այվազովսկի
Baptized as Hovhannes Aivazian

 	Country				Award			Year
 France French Empire		Legion of Honor (Chevalier)	1857
 Ottoman Empire			Order of the Medjidie		1858
 Greece Kingdom of Greece	Order of the Redeemer		1859
 Russian Empire 		Order of St. Vladimir		1865
 Ottoman Empire			Order of Osmanieh		1874
 Kingdom of Poland		Order of the White Eagle	1893
 Russian Empire			Order of St. Alexander Nevsky	1897


Crimean War

Holy Alliance

Eastern Bloc emigration and defection

Berlin Wall


Order of Merit Across the World


The honours system

The Brisith Honours System

list of current members of the Order of Merit, along with the dates of their appointments to the Order.



Order of Lenin

Imperial Russia: Order of St. Vladimir

Order of St. Alexander Nevsky

Legion of Honour


warrior Behavioral codes

Knightly Piety



Ottoman Empire
Order of the Medjidie

Order of Osmanieh

Order of the Redeemer
Order of the White Eagle (Poland)


Medal of Honor

Presidential Medal of Freedom

Congressional Gold Medal


Orders, decorations, and medals of the United Kingdom
“The British honours system is a means of rewarding individuals’ personal bravery, achievement, or service to the United Kingdom and the British Overseas Territories. The system consists of three types of award: honours, decorations and medals:

Honours are used to recognise merit in terms of achievement and service.
Decorations tend to be used to recognise specific deeds.
Medals are used to recognise bravery, long and/or valuable service and/or good conduct.”,_decorations,_and_medals_of_the_United_Kingdom
Behavioral codes
“In many societies in which a specialized warrior class exists, specific codes of conduct (ethical code or honour code) are established to ensure that the warrior class is not corrupted or otherwise dangerous to the rest of society. Common features include valuing honour in the forms of faith, loyalty and courage.

Examples include the following:

Ethical codes of the early Germanic Peoples, as well as Prussian virtues
Spartiate behavioral codes of discipline in the Spartan army.
Virtues and skills of Gaelic kerns, modeled on the Fianna, semi-independent warrior bands in Irish mythology and Scottish mythology
Medieval knights’ code of chivalry;
Samoa’s Toa[disambiguation needed] class, which used a warrior code known as fa’aaloalo (respect) that is still in existence today;
Kshatriya code of Dharma in Hinduism;
Khalsa code of saint Soldiers in Sikhism;
Japan’s samurai class, which uses a warrior code known as Bushido (The Way Of The Warrior)
Nepal’s Gurkha, warriors from mountain and hills of Nepal.
Chhetri’s of Nepal, warrior and Kings caste of Nepal, original true Gurkhas.
Xiá in China;
French Foreign Legion Code d’Honneur, still in use today;
Spanish Legion Credo legionario, still in use today, and
Arab-Persian ethical code of Furusiyya during the Middle Ages.
Warriors’ honour is dependent on following the code. Common virtues in warrior codes are mercy, courage, and loyalty.”

“Warrior communities
Amazons, Ansar, Ashigaru, Berserker, Cheema, Dog soldier, Eagle warrior,
Ghazw, Gladiator, Gurjar, Hashashin, Hersir, Hoplite, Hwarang, Impi, Jatt,
Jaguar warrior, Janissary, Kheshig, Knight, Kshatriya, Legionary, Paladin,
Mandalorians, Ninja, Nair, Phalangite, Persian Immortals, Pronoia, Rajput,
Rajpar, Reddy, Ronin, Sacred Band of Carthage, Samurai, Shieldmaiden,
Spahi, Sohei, Timariots, Uhlan, Valkyries, Vojvoda, Viking, Xia, Yamabushi”